The Faculty of Nursing Science of the University of Medical Sciences Ondo City, Ondo State is part of the academic division of the University. The Faculty of Nursing evolved in 2017 through the Mandate of the Governor of Ondo State, Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Odunayo Akeredolu who instructed that the schools of Nursing and Midwifery be integrated with the then Department of Nursing Science which was under the Faculty of Allied Health. The senate of the University after due process approved the Faculty of Nursing Science as an academic division of the University at the 23rd Statutory Meeting of Senate on October 26, 2017.

After - Government circular effecting the transfer of the schools was obtained, a joint meeting of stake holders was held at the hall of the School of Nursing, Akure on July 31st under the chairmanship of the Vice chancellor. Other important dignitaries at the meeting were DVC Administration DVC Academics, Ag Registrar and Bursar of the UNIMED. From the Ministry of Health, the Permanent secretary Ministry of Health   the Director of Nursing Ministry of Health and the Principals of the two schools.  Also present at the meeting all the academic staff of the Department of Nursing Science and all teaching and non- teaching staff of the Schools of Nursing and Midwifery.

It was at this meeting, the Vice chancellor announced the appointments of the Ag Dean, Dr  O. Abimbola Oluwatosin (Associate professor of Nursing)  and the heads of the four Departments, Dr S.U. Akpovi (Associate professor of Nursing) as head of the Department of Nursing Education and Administration;  Dr Moyo Oladapo as Coordinator for the Department of Community Health Nursing, Dr Bridget Akin- Otiko as coordinator for the Department of Maternal, Neonatal and child health while Dr Mary Edwards was also appointed as coordinator for Department of Adult Health comprising of Medical, Surgical and Mental Health Psychiatry Nursing. 


The goal of the University is to support Nigeria's quest for high quality education, service delivery, research and innovation in the medical sciences. The specific objectives of the Faculty of Nursing Science therefore, are as follows:

1. To prepare nurses to be clinical experts and outstanding caregivers at different levels of health care.

2. To provide nurses with opportunities for professional development and realization of their career goals

3. To promote research for evidence based nursing practice and reforms in nursing education

4. To promote the health and wellbeing of the populace and foster quality service delivery

5. To collaborate with selected Nurses in the selected health care facilities for the training of our students.

6. To hold consultation and collaborate with relevant government and non-governmental agencies on nursing issues


The Faculty of Nursing Science (FNS) is a degree awarding Faculty. The four Departments: and the four departments will contribute harmoniously to produce exceptional BNSc graduates. The Departments are:

Department of Adult Health (Medical, Surgical, Mental Health and Psychiatry Nursing)

Department of Maternal, Neonatal and Child Health Nursing

Department of Community Health Nursing

Department of Nursing Education and Administration


Faculty of Nursing

University of Medical Science

Odosida Campus Ondo City

Ondo State.


Dr. Oyeninhun Abimbola Oluwatosin
Associate Professor
Ag. Dean

University of Medical Sciences

Laje Road, Ondo City, Ondo State, Nigeria.
PMB 536. E-mail: info@unimed.edu.ng
Tel: +234-706-957-3618, +234-905-826-3636