The Faculty of Allied Health Sciences came into being in 2017 with Prof. P.U. Nwoha as its pioneer Dean. At inception, it had two departments namely: Department of Nursing and Department of Physiotherapy which were hitherto in the Faculty of Basic Sciences. The Department of Medical Laboratory Sciences was a later addition to the faculty. Presently, the faculty has two departments- Medical Laboratory Science and Physiotherapy as the erstwhile Department of Nursing has transformed into the Faculty of Nursing. Plans to commence an Occupational Therapy programme in the faculty are at an advanced stage. In the 2017/2018 academic session, students in the Physiotherapy programme are in 200 level of study while those in Medical Laboratory Science (MLS) are in 100 level. Both programmes have scaled through the mandatory resource verification hurdle of the National University Commission (NUC). The MLS programme has also had a successful Medical Laboratory Science Council of Nigeria’s Pre-accreditation exercise while a date has been fixed for the visit by the Medical Rehabilitation Therapists (Registration) Board of Nigeria (MRTB) for the resource verification of the Physiotherapy programme.


a.   To produce graduates who are well grounded in theoretical knowledge and clinical skills of their fields of specialization to enable them meet the health needs of the society.

b.   To produce graduates who will not only meet local needs but also be globally relevant.

c.   To be nationally and internationally known for quality teaching, scholarship and research.

d.   To encourage research, publishing and broadening of knowledge by staff.

To ensure conducive environment for teaching and learning for students and staff.


The Faculty is made up of two department which are:

Department of Medical Laboratory Science offering Bachelor of Science in MLS degree

Department of Physiotherapy offering Bachelor of Physiotherapy degree


Dean: Professor B.O.A. Adegoke

Other Faculty Staff

Miss Ayoola T. Fasipe-Faculty Officer

Mrs. Adijat Ajifowowe-Secretary

Mrs. Rachael Adeyemi- Clerical Officer

  News and Events of the Faculty

1.   Two representatives of the World Federation of Occupational Therapists (WFOT)- Dr. Jennifer Creek from the United Kingdom and Dr. Kathleen from Hong-Kong as well as officials of the Occupational Therapists Association of Nigeria (OTAN) visited the Faculty and University in June 2018 in connection with the proposed Department of Occupational Therapy in the Faculty of Allied Health Sciences, University of Medical Sciences.

2.   Professor J.A. Balogun of the University of Chicago, USA took the 200 level Physiotherapy students in some aspects of PHT 221- Introduction into Physiotherapy Profession course. Prof. J.A.Balogun who had his first degree in Physiotherapy from the University of Ibadan and is a Distinguished Professor of the University of Health Science, Chicago State University, USA was primarily in the University to present a workshop titled “Best Practices in Academic/Clinical Department Administration and Scholarship Discovery” which held July 9-10, 2018.

The Medical Rehabilitation Therapists (Registration) Board of Nigeria (MRTB) which regulates the training and practice of Physiotherapy and other related health care professions in Nigeria is expected for a Resource Verification/ Pre-accreditation visit to the Department of Physiotherapy from 5th-7th September, 2018.

Faculty of Allied Health Sciences,

University of Medical Sciences,

Odosida Campus,

Ondo City, Ondo State, Nigeria.

E-mail: alliedhealth@unimed.edu.ng

Prof. B. O. A Adegoke Ph.D

University of Medical Sciences

Laje Road, Ondo City, Ondo State, Nigeria.
PMB 536. E-mail: info@unimed.edu.ng
Tel: +234-706-957-3618, +234-905-826-3636