Welcome to the Faculty of Science, Congratulations for choosing such an exciting Faculty in the University of Medical Sciences, Ondo City, Ondo State. The Faculty is a center for excellence and innovation in teaching of theoretical and practical basic sciences which is the bedrock of medicine and related disciplines with a vision to produce competent, disciplined and distinguished graduates in all aspect of basic and applied sciences. In addition, we cannot over emphasis the importance of developing trained students with a solid understanding of principles that govern science and technology in order to create a society of well-informed citizens that can take rational decisions on important issues in a world where the pace of scientific and technological development continues to increase dramatically.


The Faculty of Science offers a 4-year Programme leading to the award of the Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) Degree in four Departments, namely:

(1) Biological Sciences with its three options:

a) Animal & Environmental Science,

b) Microbiology and

c) Plant Biology and Biothechnology

(2) Chemistry

(3) Mathematics and

(4) Physics with its two options:

        a) Physics Electronics and

        c) Medical Physics.


The Faculty of Science is one of the foundation faculties established at the inception of the University as a serving department with the basic policy to teach Pure Sciences and began offering the programme of B. Sc. (Hons) in 2016/17 academic session. The organization of the Faculty management started with three members of Staff- The pioneer Dean, Prof. A. M. Arogunjo, Mr A. O. Oke, the faculty officer and Mr Y. O. Ibrahim as secretary.

The current Dean of Science, Prof Roseangela Nwuba took over the leadership of the faculty on August 1, 2018.


        The specific aims of the Programme are to:

 Provide the opportunity for each student to assimilate and apply the body of knowledge required by a chosen discipline through a clearly defined sequence of courses.

 Develop each student’s ability to think critically and to communicate effectively through creative and challenging educational experiences.

 Dncourage each student to become a well-rounded, educated person through exposure to other disciplines within the university.

 Contribute to the greater body of knowledge in specialized disciplines through research, scholarship and professional endeavours.

 Produce self-reliant graduates for self-employment in various areas of sciences.


The degree Programme in the Faculty of Science are designed to produce graduates with sound knowledge of science and its applications especially in industries and other related Science- oriented  establishments.

The Faculty of Science offers a 4year programme leading to the award of the B.Sc. Degree in four Departments, namely:

(1.) Biological Sciences with its two options: Animal & Environmental Science and Microbiology,

(2.) Chemistry,

(3.) Mathematics and

(4.) Physics with its two options: Electronics and Medical Physics.


 Prof.  Nwuba, Roseangela I.

 Qualification: B.Sc. (Jos), M.Sc., Ph.D. (Ibadan);

 Designation: Professor.



Mr. Fagbule Odunayo

Designation: Administrative Officer

Mrs. Ayanbade Funmilayo

Designation: Secretary

Miss Olabintan Aminat O.

Designation: Office Attendant


Faculty of Science

University of Medical Sciences 

laje Road, Ondo City

Ondo State.


Prof. Roseangela Nwuba I.
B,Sc, M.Sc, Ph.D

University of Medical Sciences

Laje Road, Ondo City, Ondo State, Nigeria.
PMB 536. E-mail: info@unimed.edu.ng
Tel: +234-706-957-3618, +234-905-826-3636