NextGens Scholarship   |  OAPET   |  OER   |  WEBMAIL   |  STAFF PORTAL   |  UNIMED LEARN   |  E-LEARNING
 
Babayemi Joshua Olajiire
B.Sc ,M.Sc ,Ph.D
Ag. HOD
 

Welcome to the website of the Department of Biosciences and Biotechnology at the University of Medical Sciences (UNIMED), Ondo City; home of the first specialized medical university in Nigeria. It is with great pleasure that I welcome you to the Department of Biosciences and Biotechnology family. Our Department was created in 2022 from the former Department of Biological Sciences to train a new generation of bioscientists the fundamentals of science through cutting-edge multidisciplinary teaching and research approaches. The programs offered in the Department include Animal and Environmental Biology, Environmental Management and Toxicology, and Plant Biology and Biotechnology.

                                                             

Although the graduates from these programs receive different degrees, our faculty, together with students, have a fantastic relationship which culminates in the rapid growth and transformation of our Department. The multidisciplinary nature and flavor of our discipline give our students an edge over their contemporaries as they are exposed to other fields of Biosciences and Biotechnology than their primary subject.

 

We prepare our students for exciting careers in all branches of biosciences and biotechnology, environmental biology and toxicology, molecular biology and parasitology, aquaculture and hydrobiology, and ethnobotany. Our students are provided with adequate knowledge and laboratory skills to tackle our society’s pertinent challenges.

With our experienced and approachable lecturers, we assure you of world-class education in the Biosciences and Biotechnology at UNIMED. Welcome and enjoy your stay at Nigerian premier University of Medical Sciences.

 

Babayemi Joshua OlajiireB.Sc ,M.Sc ,Ph.D

Ag. HOD



    The specific learning objectives are the:

1. Ability to read, understand, and critically interpret the primary literature in Biosciences and Biotechnology in his/her area of interest.

 

2. Basic sciences (i.e., mathematics, statistics, physics, general and organic chemistry) necessary for upper-level biosciences coursework.

 

3. Knowledge of the dynamics of the components of the environment to ensure a stable and safe environment for man.

 

4. Knowledge and skills to maintain the environment and prevent infections and infestations for the overall improvement of human and animal health.

 

5. Terminology, principles and ability to explain the fundamental biomedical processes of metabolism, homeostasis, reproduction, development, and genetics, and the relationships between form and function of biological structures at the molecular, cellular, organismal, population, and ecosystem.

 

6. Fundamental methods, procedures, and techniques for conducting experimental and empirical research.



The academic programmes in the Department of Biosciences and Biotechnology are:

1. Animal and Environmental Biology.

 

2. Environmental Management and Toxicology.

 

3. Plant Biology and Biotechnology.



FACULTY
NAME: Babayemi Joshua Olajiire
QUALIFICATION: B.Sc.,Ph.D.,M.Sc.
DESIGNATION: Reader/Ag. HOD
E-MAIL: jbabayemi@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Edosomwan Evelyn Uwa
QUALIFICATION: Ph.D,M.Phil.,M.Sc.,B.Sc
DESIGNATION: Professor
E-MAIL: eedosomwan@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Okaka Christopher Ehighaukhuo
QUALIFICATION:
DESIGNATION: Professor
E-MAIL: cokaka@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Nwuba Roseangela Ifeyinwa
QUALIFICATION: PhD,M.Sc,B.Sc.
DESIGNATION: Professor
E-MAIL: rnwuba@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Oladipo Olufunmilayo Eunice
QUALIFICATION: PhD,B. Tech. ,M. Tech.
DESIGNATION: Professor
E-MAIL: eoladipo@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Oyeyemi Oyetunde Timothy
QUALIFICATION: Ph.D,M.Sc.,B.Sc
DESIGNATION: Reader
E-MAIL: ooyeyemi@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Ogoanah Sylvia Oghenevwegba
QUALIFICATION: PH.D
DESIGNATION: Senior Lecturer
E-MAIL: sogoanah@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Ayeku Patrick Oluwagbemiga
QUALIFICATION: Ph.D,B.Sc,M.Sc
DESIGNATION: Senior Lecturer
E-MAIL: Payeku@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Arogundade Oluwabunmi Okerinmola
QUALIFICATION: B.Sc.,M.Sc.,Ph.D.
DESIGNATION: Senior Lecturer
E-MAIL: oarogundade@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Adebayo Temitope Ebenezer
QUALIFICATION: MSC,PHD,BSC
DESIGNATION: Senior Lecturer
E-MAIL: tadebayo@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Olatunji Babawale Peter
QUALIFICATION: B.Sc,M.Sc,Ph.D
DESIGNATION: SENIOR LECTURER
E-MAIL: bolatunji@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Asowata-ayodele Abiola Mojisola
QUALIFICATION: B.Sc.,Ph.D.,M.Sc.
DESIGNATION: Teaching/ Senior Lecturer
E-MAIL: mayodeleasowata@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Tiamiyu Adebisi Musefiu
QUALIFICATION: MVPH,PhD,DVM
DESIGNATION: Senior Lecturer
E-MAIL: atiamiyu@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Oyeyemi Ifeoluwa Temitayo
QUALIFICATION: PhD,B.Sc,M.Sc
DESIGNATION: Senior Lecturer
E-MAIL: ioyeyemi@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Akindele Ajoke F. idayat
QUALIFICATION: Phd
DESIGNATION: Lecturer 1
E-MAIL: fakindele@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Oyetunji Olumoye Ezekiel
QUALIFICATION: BSc,MSc,PhD
DESIGNATION: Lecturer 1
E-MAIL: ooyetunji@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Adeyeoluwa Temitayo Esther
QUALIFICATION: M.V.Sc,Ph.D,D.V.M
DESIGNATION: lecturer 1
E-MAIL: tadeyeoluwa@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Joseph Akaninyene Paul
QUALIFICATION: M.Sc,Ph.D,B.Sc
DESIGNATION: LECTURER II
E-MAIL: pjoseph@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Olowolaju Ezekiel Dare
QUALIFICATION: B. Sc. (Ed.),M.Sc.,Ph.D
DESIGNATION: Lecturer II
E-MAIL: eolowolaju@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Agbowuro Gbenga Oluwayomi
QUALIFICATION: M.Sc,B. Agric
DESIGNATION: Lecturer II
E-MAIL: gagbowuro@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Adetunji-popoola Waliat Oluwabamike
QUALIFICATION: Masters,B.Sc.
DESIGNATION: Assistant Lecturer
E-MAIL: wadetunji-popoola@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Oyewale Abayomi Tolulope
QUALIFICATION: B.Sc.,M.Sc.,Ph.D.
DESIGNATION: Lecturer II
E-MAIL: aoyewale@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Ibiyemi Omoyemi Moretiayo
QUALIFICATION: JSSCE
DESIGNATION: Lab Attendant
E-MAIL: oibiyemi@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Abdulganiyu Kazeem Nil
QUALIFICATION: MSc. Cellular Parasitology ,Bachelor of Science
DESIGNATION: Assistant Lecturer
E-MAIL: kabdulganiyu@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Ojo Tunbi Damilare
QUALIFICATION: M.Sc,B.Sc
DESIGNATION: Assistant Lecturer
E-MAIL: tojo@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Olawoyin Taiwo Godspower
QUALIFICATION: B.Sc
DESIGNATION: Graduate Assistant
E-MAIL: tolawoyin@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Ayeni Opeyemi Esther
QUALIFICATION: B.sc
DESIGNATION: Graduate Assistant
E-MAIL: oeayeni@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Irabor Precious Catherine
QUALIFICATION: B.Sc
DESIGNATION: Graduate Assistant
E-MAIL: pirabor@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
STAFF
NAME: Adelakun, Adeyinka Isaiah
QUALIFICATION: HND
DESIGNATION: Principal Technologist
E-MAIL: aadelakun@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Samuel, Ojo Omoniyi
QUALIFICATION: HND
DESIGNATION: Technologist I
E-MAIL: soojo@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Obajaja, Caleb Ofumi
QUALIFICATION:
DESIGNATION: Technologist
E-MAIL: cobajaja@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Olofinlade, Jumoke Elizabeth
QUALIFICATION: B.Sc
DESIGNATION: Herbarrium Curator
E-MAIL: jolofinlade@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Ayodele, Adetutu O.
QUALIFICATION: B.Sc.
DESIGNATION: Technologist II
E-MAIL: aadetutu@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Adeniyi, Oluwatosin Esther
QUALIFICATION: Diploma,HND,PDE,PGD
DESIGNATION: Clerical Officer
E-MAIL: oeadeniyi@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Landy, Modupe Jumoke
QUALIFICATION:
DESIGNATION: Office Attendant
E-MAIL: mlandy@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details
NAME: Alamukii, Nanfizat Abiket
QUALIFICATION: BSc,MSc.
DESIGNATION: Assistant Lecturer
E-MAIL: nalamukii@unimed.edu.ng
→ View Details


Department of Bioscience and Biotechnology,

University of Medical Sciences,

Odosida Campus,

Ondo City,

Ondo State,

Nigeria

Email: biotech@unimed.edu.ng

 





University of Medical Sciences

Laje Road, Ondo City, Ondo State, Nigeria. PMB 536. E-mail: info@unimed.edu.ng
Tel: +234-706-957-3618, +234-905-826-3636, +234-811-295-7770,
+234-916-400-0008,+234-911-500-4010